EverydayHealthLogo
Dr. Hugh Melnick, MD
TOP DOCTOR

Dr. Hugh Melnick, MD

5.0

(147)
Accepting patients

    Ratings & Reviews

    08/13/2022
    Rating StarRating StarRating StarRating StarRating Star

    Modern Day Medicine vs the Dad Approach

    I recently read a quote in an article that discusses the traditional paternalistic model of medicine (where the patient blindly obeys the MD) versus a transformation in the last 20 years to a more patient-centered model. The patient-centered approach is described as one where “the physician tries to enter the patient's world, to see the illness through the patient's eyes”. Immediately, I though of my experience with Dr. Melnick compared to all other MDs. He is the best!
    07/15/2021
    Rating StarRating StarRating StarRating StarRating Star

    finally a doctor that actually listens to the patient, hes a breath of fresh air

    the doctor is not only knowledgeable of cutting edge procedures, but hes also humble, and patient. What I appreciate the most about him is that he listens to your needs and concerns, its not his way or the highway, its been a pleasure dealing with him when ever I needed to
    02/16/2021
    Rating StarRating StarRating StarRating StarRating Star

    Truly Grateful to Have Found Dr. Melnick

    Absolutely wonderful, knowledgeable, and caring doctor. As a scientist, I'm very interesting in learning about the physiology and biochemistry and of what is occurring with my Hashimoto's Disease. He is able to explain it so well and sees every patient as a different case, rather than grouped into one classification of what Hashimoto's and thyroid disease is. His experience and demeanor is so refreshing in today's medical world and I am truly grateful to have found him.
    11/15/2020
    Rating StarRating StarRating StarRating StarRating Star

    Dr. Melnick is the best.

    Dr. Melnick listened to me and took time explain everything. He helped me so much with my subclinical hypothyroidism. He treatment method is tailored to the patient's needs. He saved my life. I am so grateful that he is my doctor.
    11/12/2020
    Rating StarRating StarRating StarRating StarRating Star

    Best thyroid/fertility specialist in NYC

    Thanks to Dr. Melnick's expertise in both the fields of fertility and encodrinology, I was able to get pregnant naturally at 44, avoid a miscarriage, and deliver a healthy baby girl. Unlike other endocrinologists that medicate you solely based on bloodwork, Dr. Melnick listens to your symptoms, medical history, and other personal information and takes a more tailored approach. He gave us hope and a baby where other doctors had basically told us to give up. Dr. Melnick understands the unique relationship between thyroid function and fertility function and will medicate you appropriately. We thank Dr. Melnick deeply for helping us achieve the family of our dreams.
    11/10/2020
    Rating StarRating StarRating StarRating StarRating Star

    I trust the facility and their genuine approach.

    Dr. Melnick is kind and easy to speak with. It has been a long journey for me and I appreciate his approach and willingness to listen. The nurses and administration at the facility are down to earth and so sweet. Thank you!
    11/10/2020
    Rating StarRating StarRating StarRating StarRating Star

    Pregnant at 40 with the help of Dr. Melnick!

    While working with Aimee Raupp, she referred me to Dr. Melnick. She suspected that I had thyroid issues that needed to be treated to improve my fertility. After seeing Dr. Melnick, he confirmed the issue and promptly put me on medication and ran some fertility screenings. He was kind, open to talking, and fully supportive of my ability to get pregnant. After two months on the medication, we are expecting! This is in stark contrast to other doctors who without looking at my test results said I should immediately go for IVF given my age - telling my chances of getting pregnant are less than 2%! I was in tears after those visits. I am so thankful for Dr. Melnick!
    11/10/2020
    Rating StarRating StarRating StarRating StarRating Star

    Dr Melnick is an amazing and brilliant doctor

    Dr Melnick is an extremely professional, competent and knowledgeable physician. Equally important is that he really listens and cares about his patients. He is unique in today’s time. I am lucky to have found him as my doctor. I would recommend him very highly.
    11/02/2020
    Rating StarRating StarRating StarRating StarRating Star

    10 out of 10

    See above
    10/29/2020
    Rating StarRating StarRating StarRating StarRating Star

    A totally wonderful, needed and necessary option

    Dr. Melnick is and always has been a caring, patient, and understanding doctor. He not only prescribes medication but is willing to listen to his patients in regards to their overall health. Doctors like that are very hard to find, which makes me grateful for having found him.
    10/28/2020
    Rating StarRating StarRating StarRating StarRating Star

    My experience was as always extremely productive.

    The best part of my experience with Dr. Melnick is his willingness to listen and discuss. He will discuss areas of health not directly related to the issue at hand and offer guidance which is very refreshing and helpful. Because at the end of the day all areas of the body work together. So when he ties two supposedly unrelated issues together it’s an ah-ha moment and things make more sense.
    10/27/2020
    Rating StarRating StarRating StarRating StarRating Star

    My experience is always positive

    Dr. Melnick is an experienced doctor who takes his time explaining your concerns. Although I moved, I continue to be in his care. It’s difficult when you have a good rapport with your doctor, to start looking for someone new. Thank You Dr. Melnick for being my doctor
    10/27/2020
    Rating StarRating StarRating StarRating StarRating Star

    Thorough

    Dr. Melnick is caring. He listens and has provided me proper treatment and follow up.
    10/27/2020
    Rating StarRating StarRating StarRating StarRating Star

    Reassuring

    Absolutely excellent. Has helped relieve thyroid symptoms that no other doctor could. My quality of life is finally improving thanks to Dr. Melnick. I can’t thank him enough for his expertise and care!
    10/26/2020
    Rating StarRating StarRating StarRating StarRating Star

    Great experience as always

    Always answers my questions and never gives up on trying to make sure I feel well
    10/26/2020
    Rating StarRating StarRating StarRating StarRating Star

    Dr. Melnick was Thorough and took the time to answer all my questions. And listened to my concerns

    Dr. Melnick Was Professional and thorough
    10/21/2020
    Rating StarRating StarRating StarRating StarRating Star

    The best physician to address my under-active thyroid and challenging fertility needs.

    Dr.Hugh Melnick is always patient, caring, and attentive. He does a great job explaining my medical conditions while providing me with the best options to meet my medical needs.
    10/21/2020
    Rating StarRating StarRating StarRating StarRating Star

    great

    great
    10/21/2020
    Rating StarRating StarRating StarRating StarRating Star

    Very good.

    Very good and encouraging and helpful.
    10/20/2020
    Rating StarRating StarRating StarRating StarRating Star

    As always, precise decisions by Dr. Melnick...

    Dr. Melnick is a caring doctor...My wife, daughter and myself put our trust in his knowledge and expertise...A dear man!...
    10/20/2020
    Rating StarRating StarRating StarRating StarRating Star

    Dr. Melnick is great bc he listens and understands my diagnosis and how it effects my life

    Dr Melnick is patient and understanding . He is also pragmatic and willing to work with patients on solutions they need. He is my endocrinologist but actually helped me detect ovarian polyps when I disclosed symptoms to him.
    10/19/2020
    Rating StarRating StarRating StarRating StarRating Star

    Dr Melnick was the first Thyroid specialist to correctly diagnose me and had the patience to explain everything and get me on the right medication!

    As I wrote before, Dr.Melnick is the best doctor that I have. He is quick to notice changes, take the right blood tests to find the right medication for me. If I call and say I don’t believe I have enough medication to make me me again, he gets me to come in immediately and we test to see what is wrong. He is the first doctor that I have gone to that doesn’t tell me it’s in my head! He understands women, hormones and thyroid, as well as in vitro, etc. he is the best!
    10/19/2020
    Rating StarRating StarRating StarRating StarRating Star

    Extremely satisfied with my care and treatment

    Before seeing Dr. Melnick, I saw a traditional endochrinologist for about 15 years. My TSH was always around 3.5 and I always felt tired and complained of fatigue, dry skin, constipation, and cold intolerance. I was told these complaints were symptoms I would just have to learn to live with because of my hypothyroidism. Dr. Melnick, changed my medication to Armour and got me off the synthroid. Now, 6 weeks into the new medication, I feel better than I have felt in 20 years. I have so much more energy, am sleeping about 2 hours less per night, I feel warm and tolerate the cold and my dry flaking skin is smooth and supple. Dr. Melnick understands how to look at the whole picture of thyroid health, which impacts vitamin deficiencies (he discovered I have and two major ones and started me on supplements). I couldn't be more grateful or happier. Thank you Dr. Melnick!!
    10/15/2020
    Rating StarRating StarRating StarRating StarRating Star

    It was very reassuring and loved that he listened without judgment.

    Listened without judgement and truly cared.
    10/15/2020
    Rating StarRating StarRating StarRating StarRating Star

    amazing

    the doctor melnick is amazing and spend a lot of time with me and now i m felling so much better
    10/13/2020
    Rating StarRating StarRating StarRating StarRating Star

    Excellent experienced physician

    Excellent doctor. He is very knowledgeable and trustworthy.
    10/13/2020
    Rating StarRating StarRating StarRating StarRating Star

    Great as always

    Very happy
    10/08/2020
    Rating StarRating StarRating StarRating StarRating Star

    Excellent doctor!!

    I am 51 and been to quite a few doctors. Dr Melnick is the best doctor I have ever been treated by. He treats myself and my teenage daughter for thyroid issues. He is very knowledgeable and treats us based on symptoms, not just numbers. He is also very kind and a pleasure to talk to. I highly recommend him.
    10/07/2020
    Rating StarRating StarRating StarRating StarRating Star

    Great as always

    Good!
    10/07/2020
    Rating StarRating StarRating StarRating StarRating Star

    Great. Always listens and answers all questions

    Great. First Dr to take the time to listen to me and actually diagnose my thyroid issue
    10/07/2020
    Rating StarRating StarRating StarRating StarRating Star

    I have been searching for a long time to find a doctor who could help me with my thyroid problems, and Dr. Melnick has been great

    Dr. Melnick listens to his patient. He is highly knowledgeable, and skilled in dealing with thyroid problems. I am very grateful to have found him.
    10/07/2020
    Rating StarRating StarRating StarRating StarRating Star

    Knowledgeable and amiable

    Has helped me feel better
    10/06/2020
    Rating StarRating StarRating StarRating StarRating Star

    Love the video conference

    As always a very pleasant consultation. Very professional, always trying ways to improve one's health.
    10/06/2020
    Rating StarRating StarRating StarRating StarRating Star

    Good listening

    Dr Melnick is rare because he actually cares how you feel. He looks at all of you and not just your clinical numbers. He listens and interacts with the you and not at you
    09/30/2020
    Rating StarRating StarRating StarRating StarRating Star

    My experiences with Dr. Melnick have always been very productive

    Dr. Melnick listens carefully and ask a lot of questions. He provides good advice.
    09/29/2020
    Rating StarRating StarRating StarRating StarRating Star

    Very helpful and informative

    Pleasant as usual
    09/24/2020
    Rating StarRating StarRating StarRating StarRating Star

    really will listen to patients

    very grateful to get linked with a doctors office who cares about patient needs and doesn't just write you off. Many thanks to Dr. Melnick and Staff
    09/23/2020
    Rating StarRating StarRating StarRating StarRating Star

    Very pleased

    The first time I meet with Dr Melnik, he reassured me that he will help me get feeling better and I trusted him in the decision he made. Today am feeling great thanks to him.
    09/23/2020
    Rating StarRating StarRating StarRating StarRating Star

    Great, love working with Dr. Melnick

    Awesome
    09/23/2020
    Rating StarRating StarRating StarRating StarRating Star

    Excellent provider

    Dr. Melnick is an expert diagnostician who listens and truly cares for his patients.