EverydayHealthLogo
Dr. Andrew J. Scheman, MD
TOP DOCTOR

Dr. Andrew J. Scheman, MD

Dermatologist (Skin Specialist)

40 Years of Experience

5.0

(269)
Accepting patients

    Ratings & Reviews

    04/12/2019
    Rating StarRating StarRating StarRating StarRating Star

    Dr. Scheman is knowledge in a bottle

    Dr. Scheman and his staff treated me with dignity and didn't look at me as if I was an alien. The office was very comfortable and the wait time was very good. I would refer anyone with any skin problems or allergies to Dr. Scheman. He is wonderful!
    04/05/2019
    Rating StarRating StarRating StarRating StarRating Star

    efficient and comprehensive

    i trusted Dr. Scheman thoroughly, he was extremely knowledgable and was highly recommended by my local dermatologist. Dr. Schemann was able to explain his plan of care, his findings and scientific concepts in a way i could understand. He always made sure that I understood everything and that i had no further questions.
    03/29/2019
    Rating StarRating StarRating StarRating StarRating Star

    Exceptional doctor!

    Dr Scheman is one of the most skilled and knowledgeable physicians I have ever met. His dedication and years of study and investigation have paid off for the medically complicated patient. Although my sensitiviites were relatively in one area, I learned how to better to avoid offending products. His testing is extensive , but what a reward you will receive by learning your sensitivities! Staff are pleasant and patient. A rewarding experience !
    03/15/2019
    Rating StarRating StarRating StarRating StarRating Star

    Excellent Care!!

    Dr. Scheman took the time to explain everything that is needed to understand my skin condition. He was very clear with the treatment and written instructions. He and his staff were amazing! I highly recommend Dr. Scheman.
    02/22/2019
    Rating StarRating StarRating StarRating StarRating Star

    Just the Dr. I needed! Thank you!

    Excellent!
    01/15/2019
    Rating StarRating StarRating StarRating StarRating Star

    Great detective work

    After several flare-ups of itching, swollen eyes, my dermatologist referred me to Dr. Scheman, who specializes in contact allergies. His pre-visit videos are extremely clear, and his whole staff worked together to support the process of figuring out what might be contributing to these flare-ups, starting with a detailed examination of my activities and substances I'm exposed to. After a week of detective work, I have an answer, a plan - and I hope, an end to the problem.
    01/11/2019
    Rating StarRating StarRating StarRating StarRating Star

    Extremely satisfied

    Dr. Scheman and his staff were very professional, knowledgeable throughout my testing and treatment and I would highly recommend them.
    12/21/2018
    Rating StarRating StarRating StarRating StarRating Star

    Excellent Detective WOrk

    The whole team took great care with my concerns
    11/30/2018
    Rating StarRating StarRating StarRating StarRating Star

    EXCELLENT

    EXCELLENT, PROFESSIONAL and CARING
    11/30/2018
    Rating StarRating StarRating StarRating StarRating Star

    Excellent Doctor and Staff

    My experience this week was fantastic. Dr. Scheman and staff are pleasant and efficient. My fist visit was right after a blizzard. Dr. Scheman was considerate of my long drive to the office and told me I could still come in at any time that day if I wanted to make the long drive. He also told me to keep safety in mind. The staff was welcoming and everyone works well together. Dr, Scheman clearly explained my results and made me feel relaxed with his sense of humor.
    11/16/2018
    Rating StarRating StarRating StarRating StarRating Star

    Extremely thorough, detailed, and professional

    After several years of struggling with allergic contact dermatitis I finally have the answers and tools I need in order to avoid my allergies. Dr. Scheman is the best in the Midwest, he is the person to see for patch testing!
    11/09/2018
    Rating StarRating StarRating StarRating StarRating Star

    I got my answer

    At 43 years old and a lifetime allergy free, I did not anticipate finding myself in the midst of episodic allergic reactions visible to the world on my face. Dr. Scheman runs his office like a well oiled machine. Each appointment was explained in great detail, with ipad videos to accompany each step of our 5 day journey. I'm leaving on day 5 equipped with an understanding of my condition, the ingredients to avoid, and a useful phone app to accompany me on my new fragrance free journey.
    11/02/2018
    Rating StarRating StarRating StarRating StarRating Star

    Wonderful Experience!

    I was very pleased with my visits with Dr. Scheman. His employees that I came in contact with were all very pleasant and caring. Dr. Scheman was very patient and explained everything very clearly each and every session.
    10/15/2018
    Rating StarRating StarRating StarRating StarRating Star

    Experienced, professional, trusted physician

    Finally after 16 months of being in pain and receiving care and advice that has given me no relief, I finally feel that with Dr. Scheman's orders and diagnosis I will be back to a healthy life. I've been passed around to several doctors and finally feel that with his experience and knowledge I'm receiving the advice and care I need and deserve. Thank you to the staff for understanding my situation and being so caring and helpful.
    10/12/2018
    Rating StarRating StarRating StarRating StarRating Star

    Willing to look at this differently

    I very much appreciated the detailed observations and willingness to look beyond just a topical cream solution. These new steps towards a cure for my illness are encouraging and I firmly believe that Dr. Scheman will do whatever is needed to find a solution. His staff was kind and very professional. I would recommend his care to everyone.
    10/05/2018
    Rating StarRating StarRating StarRating StarRating Star

    Expert Level Assessment

    Dr. Scheman performed an extremely thorough test for multiple suspected allergens that could have been causing my recent skin issues (itchiness & more frequent flare-ups). I learned that I am extremely allergic to one item and that I must avoid it to fully recover from my issues. Very helpful to know exactly what has been causing my issues and I am looking forward to adjusting my products in order to eliminate my skin issues moving forward. Thank you to Dr. Scheman and to his office staff.
    09/28/2018
    Rating StarRating StarRating StarRating StarRating Star

    Great Overall set ov visits

    Very Skilled Doctor, and a great and friendly staff.
    09/22/2018
    Rating StarRating StarRating StarRating StarRating Star

    excellent

    Dr Scheman is excellent doctor, explained everything to me in details, great treatment plan, highly recommend to everyone ,
    09/08/2018
    Rating StarRating StarRating StarRating StarRating Star

    Dr.Scheman

    Very happy with Dr. Scheman and staff.
    08/31/2018
    Rating StarRating StarRating StarRating StarRating Star

    The office was very organized and the staff was pleasant...Dr Scheman is a excellent doctor he took time with me to explain my problem

    I would definitely refer Dr Scheman for anyone suffering with a allergy...he helped to pinpoint my allergy and gave me info on what type of products for me to use....
    08/24/2018
    Rating StarRating StarRating StarRating StarRating Star

    Professional and thorough - recommend highly

    My entire experience with Dr. Scheman was fantastic. He is incredibly thorough and detailed and I truly felt that he was dedicated to helping me figure out my contact allergies. I was impressed with the level of professionalism in the office - every staff member I met was kind and welcoming. Thank you to the whole group for all of their help, I am very grateful for their hard work and attention to detail. I would recommend this office and Dr. Scheman to anyone.
    08/17/2018
    Rating StarRating StarRating StarRating StarRating Star

    Life changing!

    I was amazed at how comprehensive my evaluation and diagnostic plan was. I appreciate Dr. Scheman's (and his medical assistants) thorough attention. The app for my particular allergies is brilliant.
    08/10/2018
    Rating StarRating StarRating StarRating StarRating Star

    Fabulous Experience

    I was referred to Dr. Scheman by my dermatologist. I am so grateful to her for the recommendation. I had issues with itching and breaking out. I was not sure what was causing this. Dr. Scheman and his staff did an extensive series of patch testing to figure out the issue. This occurred over three days. The last day, Dr.Scheman and his staff walked me through all of my issues. He was very patient and spent time explaining all my issues.
    07/27/2018
    Rating StarRating StarRating StarRating StarRating Star

    A very thorough and very helpful experience.

    Dr. Scheman and his staff were terrific. They clearly explained the patch testing experience before my son underwent the process and they spent significant time with us afterwards to discuss the results.
    07/16/2018
    Rating StarRating StarRating StarRating StarRating Star

    Dr Scheman is brilliant

    He was very helpful with my horrible ongoing rash around my eyes.
    07/13/2018
    Rating StarRating StarRating StarRating StarRating Star

    Thank you

    Pleased the office was efficient and ran in a very timely manner. Provided help to resolve an ongoing problem in a very professional and pleasant manner.
    06/29/2018
    Rating StarRating StarRating StarRating StarRating Star

    Great experience

    I saw Dr. Scheman for patch testing, which I was reluctant to undertake because of the inconvenience of the experience as my referring doctor described it. Although the test process is frustrating, Dr. Scheman's team made it as comfortable, efficient and informative as it could be. This is unlike other medical office experiences - everything is run very efficiently, without any wasted time and with clear explanation of test results. I highly recommend this office for any derm needs.
    06/22/2018
    Rating StarRating StarRating StarRating StarRating Star

    I had an excellent experience!

    Dr. Scheman provided me with all the information I will need to avoid my allergy trigger in the future. He is obviously a trusted expert in his field and was even able to provide me with specifically recommended make-up products. He was patient in answering all my questions and did not make me feel rushed, even on a Friday evening. I would recommend Dr. Scheman and his team to anyone!
    06/13/2018
    Rating StarRating StarRating StarRating StarRating Star

    Dr. Scheman was calm and methodical in his approach and diaganosis.

    I was very happy with the time he spent with us. He listened and gave his diagnosis to my issues.
    06/08/2018
    Rating StarRating StarRating StarRating StarRating Star

    Dr. Scheman and his staff made an intimidating experience much more understandable.

    Although I was a little nervous about the whole patch testing procedure Dr. Scheman and his staff were so kind and patient. Every question was answered until I understood. The whole staff was kind and respectful. I left with a clear understanding of how to handle my allergic situation!
    06/02/2018
    Rating StarRating StarRating StarRating StarRating Star

    Answers to my condition

    I have been suffering with a nasty rash for eight years with no luck finding a solution. After visiting with two other doctors, I saw Dr. Scheman and finally got the answers to what I was looking for. His vast knowledge in the field is unlike any of the other doctors I had seen.
    05/25/2018
    Rating StarRating StarRating StarRating StarRating Star

    Exceptional Visit to Dr. Scheman's Office

    I felt respected and heard. I feel the the doctor understood my pain and has prescribed treatment that I know will give me relief and heal me from these allergies. The staff is absolutely helpful and friendly! Amy was exceptional with explanation of insurance benefits. Thank you Dr. Scheman!
    05/14/2018
    Rating StarRating StarRating StarRating StarRating Star

    Found the Culprit!

    We are so lucky to have an expert like Dr. Scheman in the Chicagoland area.
    05/04/2018
    Rating StarRating StarRating StarRating StarRating Star

    Very Satisfied with everything

    Dr. Scheman is thorough and detailed. He respects the fact that patients invest a lot of time and money to get the tests done. He and his staff truly try their best to get to the root of the problem. I was tested positive for Nickel and BPO and he gave me detailed advice and instructions on how to avoid it. He also took the additional time to demo how I can test for nickel using a simple test kit. Very happy overall with my visit!
    04/27/2018
    Rating StarRating StarRating StarRating StarRating Star

    Experience and expertise--you will leave happy.

    After four months of pain and discomfort and three different diagnoses, Dr. Scheman figured out the source of my problem. The entire staff, from front desk to the nurses, were friendly and knowledgeable. An overall great experience!
    04/13/2018
    Rating StarRating StarRating StarRating StarRating Star

    Outstanding

    Outstanding. Amazing. took my 6 mo. history & narrowed it down to a accurate Diagnosis and then provided all literature, YouTube Videos, verbal instructions and an APP for my Phone. Overwhelming? Yes. Then, Dr. Scheman brings all that extensive information into common lay terms that a regular patient/person can understand. Most doctors give you a Diagnosis. Dr. Scheman gives you Everything you need to go home and relax. Doctor has provided me with all the tools and treatment plan. Thank-You!
    04/06/2018
    Rating StarRating StarRating StarRating StarRating Star

    Peeling fingers

    very happy with Dr Scheman and his staff. Very Very thankful that I got an answer to my problem
    04/01/2018
    Rating StarRating StarRating StarRating StarRating Star

    Excellent dr

    I have seen three doctors for my issue and he was the one to find out what’s been going on with me for 3 months! He listened to me and he figured out what test was right for me and he found out exactly what’s been going on! Hopefully I can get back to my normal life!!! Thank you
    03/30/2018
    Rating StarRating StarRating StarRating StarRating Star

    thank you

    very informative to help me learn what I was allergic too. staff was extremely kind and helpful as well. Very excited to learn now how to avoid what I am allergic too. besides letting me know, he was able to explain how to avoid them.
    03/16/2018
    Rating StarRating StarRating StarRating StarRating Star

    Thorough and lots of information

    I was tested for 176 allergens and found 3 things to avoid. I was given a new plan to help with my skin contact allergies.

    Doctors by Category

    Specialists